Making a Claim Against Deposit

Before an eviction for non-payment of rent can be filed in court,

​the Landlord must serve a proper notice on the property.

Start here to file an eviction.

Home | Evictions | Notice Requirements| Notice Claim On Deposit

Florida tenant eviction lawyer Christophe Fiori represents landlords in residential and commercial eviction actions for non-payment of rent, or failure to comply or vacate.  We take care of your eviction with efficiency and thoroughness.  We are well-versed in all aspects of Florida eviction laws and have the skills and resources to handle your eviction so that you can concentrate on other matters.


Call to speak with an experienced attorney

​FREE CONSULTATION

Toll Free (888) 384-2872

Notice of Intent to Impose

Claim on Deposit


Not Making a Claim on the Tenant's Deposit

After the tenant has vacated at the end of a lease rental term, or after execution of the writ of possession, if the landlord does not intend to impose a claim on the security deposit, the landlord has 15 days to return the security deposit, together with interest if otherwise required, to the Tenant.


Landlord must return deposit within 15 days

if No Claim On Deposit is made


Making a Claim on the Tenant's Deposit

If the landlord intends to make a claim against the tenant's deposit, then the landlord has 30 days, from the date the tenant vacated the property, to give the tenant written notice by certified mail of the intent to impose a claim and the reasons for imposing a claim.


The notice of intent to claim against deposit should be mailed to the tenant's last known mailing address.


Landlord must give notice within 30 days

of intent to claim on deposit


Tenant's Time to Object to Claim on Deposit

The tenant must object to the imposition of a claim on deposit or to the amount of the claim within 15 days after the tenant receives the landlord's notice.  If no objection is received by the landlord from the tenant, then the landlord may deduct the amount of the claim from the deposit, and the landlord shall remit the balance (if any) of the deposit to the tenant within 30 days after the date of the notice of intent to impose a claim on deposit.  Even if the tenant fails to timely object (within 15 days), the tenant could seek a return of the deposit and damages in a separate case in court.


Tenant must object to claim

within 15 days


Landlord's Time To Give Notice to Tenant

If the landlord fails to give the tenant required notice of intent to claim against deposit within 30 days after the tenant has vacated the property, landlord forfeits the right to impose a claim upon the security deposit and may not seek a set-off against the deposit but may file a separate action for damages after return of the deposit.

download free 3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate

Call for a Free Consultation

Who Can deliver an eviction notice?

The landlord or an agent of the landlord can personally deliver a notice to a tenant at the rental property. (More)


​​​​​​​​The information on this website is not legal advise, nor a substitute for legal advice.  

Speak with an experienced lawyer to discuss your specific facts, and review Florida Eviction Law Chapter 83

Eviction Lawyer and Mediation Services

​​​​​(888) 384-2872

Completing a

3 Day Notice

​A defective notice could result in your case being dismissed by the court.  Avoid delays due to defective notices. (More)

TOLL FREE

The Law Office of Christophe Fiori, PLLC